Posted in Behavior, For Nurses, Health, Pediatric Nursing, Self Care, Therapy

Hunger Index – to teach kids

HUNGER INDEX

Review with your child. Ask your child before and after a meal to tell you where they are at. 

Before Eating

0 = NO FEELING OF HUNGER / NUETRAL

– 1 = A little bit hungry: I’d like to eat, but I’d be comfortable waiting a while before eating.

-2 = Quite Hungry: I want to eat something now.. a snack or a light meal.

-3 = Very Hungry: I want to eat something “hearty” now.

-4 = Extremely Hungry: I feel ravenous, like I absolutely have to eat something right now. I am starting to get shaky, possibly sweaty, possibly nervous, and beginning to lose concentration. 

After Eating

+4 = Over-Satisfied: I have eaten more than my body wants and I feel uncomfortable!

+3 = Completely Satisfied: My body is relaxed and comfortable. If I ate any more, I would be too full. 

+2 = Just Satisfied: My body is relaxed and comfortable. I don’t need any more food, but if I had a small amount more, I’d still feel comfortable. 

+1 = Un-Satisfied: I ate some food, but it wasn’t wait enough and I’m still a bit hungry. I would like to eat something else now. 

Author:

Mother, Pediatric Nurse and a Trail Blazer for Positive Change.

Leave a Reply

