Posted in Behavior, School, Social Skills, Therapy

Kindergarten Listening Skills Lesson

Whole Body Listening – read the book “Listen and Learn” by Cheri Mieners!

Music City School Counselor

After finishing my rotation of the “Meet Your School Counselor” lessons, I thought that listening skills would make a great topic for my second classroom guidance lesson. We all know that elementary school students struggle BIG TIME with being good listeners – they often interrupt each other and the teacher, and expect attention to be on them 24/7. My friend Sally and I brainstormed to create this lesson together based on this GREAT poster that we found on pinterest.

Based on this poster, I created 8 listening “puppets” that help students remember the 8 ways that they can use their whole bodies to be good listeners.

At the beginning of the lesson, I introduce the “Whole Body Listening” poster to students. I call the boy on the poster “Listening Larry.” As a class, we go through and discuss each of the 8 listening “puppets.” I hold up each “puppet” individually…

View original post 601 more words

Author:

Mother, Pediatric Nurse and a Trail Blazer for Positive Change.

Leave a Reply

